Tenure: FreeholdFIRST TIME TO THE MARKET FOR 400 YEARS. A ONE OFF OPPORTUNITY to acquire a charming thatched cottage in need of updating and offered with NO FORWARD CHAIN.
Ashley Lodge, a former Gate House to Somerley House, is a delightful thatched cottage located on the edge of Ringwood with access and views of the Ringwood Forest.
Although the late owner of the cottage believed it to date back to 1482, whilst writing this we have only been able to access public records dating back to the early 1800s. A map of the Somerley Estate dated 1810, headed as in possession of Henry Baring, has what looks to be a small building on the edge of the estate. Sale particulars dated 23rd May 1811 include Two handsome Entrance Lodgers from the Ringwood and Harbridge Roads. Documents show Henry Bearing selling the Somerley Estate to the Normantons in the 1820s when The Lodge and Somerley Lodge appear upon documents and is assumed to be Ashley Lodge.
Census records show a Charles Shave aged 3 living at Somerley Lodge in 1841with parents William and Martha Brown and William and Caroline Shave during 1881. The Cottage is known to some locals as Shaves Lodge which is believed to originate from the name of these residents.
Numerous postcards illustrating the circular iconic lodge in the early 1900s were produced by a local printing company who were located within the shop currently occupied by W H Smith. Heavy snow during April 1908 gave the printers an excellent opportunity of creating further picturesque postcards.
Mr and Mrs Batstone, who are believed to have bought the lodge from Lord Normanton in 1962. Mr Batstone, an architect and army officer, extended the one bedroom cottage which is believed to have housed a lady with eight children who may have worked for the Somerley Estate. The property is now being sold, for the first time in 50 years on the open market by the family of the late Mr Brian Spence. No doubt further information relating to Ashley Lodge and its previous tenants will unfold
COUNCIL TAX BAND: F